Maliyah T. Coleman – Anticipation Guide

Statement # 14

Statement 14 says that slaves who escaped to the North were granted freedom. When learning about slavery, or reading books, or watching movies that I have come across, slaves were always told to runaway North. From my previous knowledge I thought that when slaves ran away to the North they were granted freedom. When I read the book Copper Sun, I found that slaves who ran away North were often not granted freedom, they had to stay hidden and were often time captured before getting there. In the book when Amari, Polly, and Tidbit went to Fort Mose, even if Clay was to find them he had no power to take them back into slavery, that is why for post I put no that if slaves were to runaway North they could not be granted freedom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *